Enjoy the greater outdoors.

Get up, get out and get ready to be amazed at what you’ll experience on our trails, waterways, greenspaces and golf courses.

The Outdoors in Birmingham

The breathtaking natural beauty is just the beginning. Add to that the seemingly countless activities and mild year-round climate and you’ll see why getting out in Birmingham is everything an outdoor adventure should be.

Featured Outdoors In Birmingham
Outdoors Red Mountain Park

1,500 acres along the Red Mountain Ridge includes over 15 miles of trails, two city overlooks, three tree houses, a dog park, and adventures like the Vulcan Materials Zip Trip and Kaul Adventure Tower.

People are screaming our praises.

Zip lines, rope bridges and mountaintop overlooks are just a few of the thing to get your adrenaline pumping around here.

Previous Set Next Set
Name Type Phone Neighborhood Website
Oak Mountain State Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 620-2520 HOOVER/VESTAVIA
Zyp Bikeshare Outdoors, Parks/Recreation DOWNTOWN www.zypbikeshare.com
Woodward Golf and Country Club Outdoors (205) 424-5500 BESSEMER www.golfwoodward.com
Vulcan Park and Museum Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 933-1409 SOUTHSIDE www.visitvulcan.com
Temple of Sibyl Outdoors (205) 967-0338 HOOVER/VESTAVIA vhal.org/sibyl-temple
Talladega Superspeedway Outdoors (256) 362-2261 TRUSSVILLE/LEEDS/IRONDALE www.talladegasuperspeedway.com
Tannehill Ironworks Historical State Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 477-5711 BESSEMER www.tannehill.org
Ruffner Mountain Nature Center Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 833-8264 AIRPORT www.ruffnermountain.org
Rickwood Caverns State Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 647-9692 GARDENDALE www.alapark.com/RickwoodCaverns/
Red Mountain Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 202-6043 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.redmountainpark.org
Regions Field Parks/Recreation (205) 988-3200 DOWNTOWN www.milb.com/content/page.jsp?sid=t247&ymd=20120127&content_id=26491494&vkey=team1
Pepper Place Saturday Market Outdoors (205) 802-2100 LAKEVIEW www.pepperplacemarket.com
Moss Rock Preserve Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 444-7866 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.hooveral.org/Index.aspx?NID=214
Legion Field Outdoors, Parks/Recreation 205-254-2391 Ticket Office WEST www.informationbirmingham.com/legion-field.aspx
Kelly Ingram Park Parks/Recreation DOWNTOWN
International Motorsports Hall of Fame Outdoors (256) 362-5002 TRUSSVILLE/LEEDS/IRONDALE www.motorsportshalloffame.com
DeSoto Caverns Family Fun Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (256) 378-7252 280 www.desotocavernspark.com
Cahaba River Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 322-5326 280 www.cahabariversociety.org
Brierfield Ironworks and Historical Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 665-1856 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.brierfieldironworks.com
Birmingham Zoo Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 879-0409 MOUNTAIN BROOK www.birminghamzoo.com
Birmingham Botanical Gardens Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 414-3900 MOUNTAIN BROOK www.bbgardens.org
Aldridge Gardens Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 682-8019 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.aldridgegardens.com
Alabama Splash Adventure Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 481-4750 BESSEMER www.alabamasplash.com
Alabama Wildlife Center Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 663-7930 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.awrc.org
Alabama Veterans Memorial Parks/Recreation (205) 305-6749 MOUNTAIN BROOK www.alabamaveterans.org
Adventure Park at Grants Mill Station Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 745-1487 TRUSSVILLE/LEEDS/IRONDALE www.grantsmillstation.com