Enjoy the greater outdoors.

Get up, get out and get ready to be amazed at what you’ll experience on our trails, waterways, greenspaces and golf courses.


The Outdoors in Birmingham

The breathtaking natural beauty is just the beginning. Add to that the seemingly countless activities and mild year-round climate and you’ll see why getting out in Birmingham is everything an outdoor adventure should be.

Featured Outdoors In Birmingham
Outdoors Red Mountain Park

1,500 acres along the Red Mountain Ridge includes over 15 miles of trails, two city overlooks, three tree houses, a dog park, and adventures like the Vulcan Materials Zip Trip and Kaul Adventure Tower.

People are screaming our praises.

Zip lines, rope bridges and mountaintop overlooks are just a few of the things to get your adrenaline pumping around here.

Previous Set Next Set
Name Type Phone Neighborhood Website
Topgolf Birmingham Outdoors (205) 847-5757 DOWNTOWN topgolf.com/us/birmingham/
Alabama Adventure & Splash Adventure Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 481-4750 BESSEMER/WEST alabamaadventure.com/
ZipTrip Slingshot Rentals Outdoors AIRPORT www.ziptripslingshotrentals.com/
Alabama Wildlife Center Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 663-7930 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.awrc.org
Protective Stadium Parks/Recreation (205) 458-8400 DOWNTOWN protectivestadium.com/
Regions Field Parks/Recreation (205) 988-3200 DOWNTOWN en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Regions_Field#External_links
Civil Axe Throwing Outdoors (205) 730-6739 LAKEVIEW www.civilaxethrowing.com/birmingham/
Vulcan Park and Museum Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 933-1409 SOUTHSIDE www.visitvulcan.com
Birmingham Zoo Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 879-0409 MOUNTAIN BROOK www.birminghamzoo.com
Birmingham Parks & Recreation Parks/Recreation 205-254-2699 Recreation Superintendent BESSEMER/WEST www.birminghamal.gov/parks-and-recreation/parks/
Talladega Superspeedway Outdoors (256) 362-2261 TRUSSVILLE/LEEDS/IRONDALE www.talladegasuperspeedway.com
DeSoto Caverns Family Fun Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (256) 378-7252 280 www.desotocavernspark.com
Crosstown Scooters Rentals Outdoors (205) 201-5869 AVONDALE/CRESTWOOD crosstownscooters.com/
Brierfield Ironworks and Historical Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 665-1856 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.brierfieldironworks.com
Kelly Ingram Park Parks/Recreation (205) 254-2556 DOWNTOWN www.nps.gov/nr/travel/civilrights/al10.htm
Ruffner Mountain Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 833-8264 AIRPORT www.ruffnermountain.org
Temple of Sibyl Outdoors (205) 967-0338 HOOVER/VESTAVIA vhal.org/sibyl-temple
Pepper Place Saturday Market Outdoors (205) 802-2100 LAKEVIEW www.pepperplacemarket.com
Alabama Veterans Memorial Parks/Recreation (205) 305-6749 MOUNTAIN BROOK www.alabamaveterans.org
Railroad Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 521-9933 DOWNTOWN www.railroadpark.org
Avondale Park Outdoors (205) 254-2391 AVONDALE/CRESTWOOD
Moss Rock Preserve Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 444-7866 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.hooveral.org/Index.aspx?NID=214
Legion Field Outdoors, Parks/Recreation 205-254-2391 Ticket Office BESSEMER/WEST www.informationbirmingham.com/legion-field.aspx
Oak Mountain State Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 620-2520 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.alapark.com/oak-mountain-state-park
Rickwood Caverns State Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 647-9692 GARDENDALE www.alapark.com/RickwoodCaverns/
Red Mountain Park Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 202-6043 HOOVER/VESTAVIA www.redmountainpark.org
International Motorsports Hall of Fame Outdoors (256) 362-5002 TRUSSVILLE/LEEDS/IRONDALE www.motorsportshalloffame.com
Cahaba River Outdoors, Parks/Recreation (205) 322-5326 280 www.cahabariversociety.org