So many festivals. So little time.

It seems like there’s always something happening here. More big events. More new festivals. More of everything. To the point where you’ll wish you had more time.


Festivals and Events in Birmingham

Birmingham is quickly becoming the go-to festival destination in the Southeast. It’s about music. It’s about art. It’s about film. It’s about food. The festival scene around here is about a lot things, and it’s about time you experienced it for yourself.

Featured Festivals and Events In Birmingham
Experience Top Events #INJanuary

Previous Set Next Set

Current & Upcoming Events


The March Quilts

Presented by Hoover Public Library at Hoover Public Library, Hoover

January 04 - February 28

Friends Gallery / Jan 4 - Jan 31, 2020
Plaza Gallery / Feb 1 - Feb 28, 2020
Bib & Tucker Sew-Op is a non-profit located in Birmingham, AL. Their mission is to cultivate skills and an environment for those who sew or want to sew (ages 9-99) where everyone can be both a student and a teacher. They achieve their mission through projects conducted in the community, workshops and weekly sewing sessions conducted in their shop. They aim to be a hub for sewing-related activities that promote...

[more+]

Friends Gallery / Jan 4 - Jan 31, 2020
Plaza Gallery / Feb 1 - Feb 28, 2020
Bib & Tucker Sew-Op is a non-profit located in Birmingham, AL. Their mission is to cultivate skills and an environment for those who sew or want to sew (ages 9-99) where everyone can be both a student and a teacher. They achieve their mission through projects conducted in the community, workshops and weekly sewing sessions conducted in their shop. They aim to be a hub for sewing-related activities that promote empowerment, education and economic opportunity.

The March Quilts began in 2015 when Bib & Tucker Sew-Op partnered with UAB’s Department of Art & Art History and the Birmingham Museum of Art to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Selma to Montgomery marches through open sewing sessions that yielded 461 quilt blocks. Sew-Op members stitched the blocks together and made three quilts, which hung at the Selma Public Library and the Alabama Department of Archives in Montgomery during the anniversary. Due to an overwhelmingly positive response, collaborators agreed that it should become an annual project. For five years, Bib & Tucker members have chosen a civil or human rights theme and facilitated open sewing sessions and discussion. During these sessions, community members created quilt blocks that express personal feelings about the theme. Since the beginning, Bib & Tucker members have sewn 10 quilts from over 1,050 submitted blocks. Themes have included celebration of the 50th anniversary of the Loving vs. Virginia Supreme Court Ruling, raising awareness of gender pay equity, environmental justice and most recently, unsung heroines of Alabama.

[less-]

Dates & times

Sat, Jan 25 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 26 @ 1:00 pm Mon, Jan 27 @ 9:00 am + 32 more dates and times

Tue, Jan 28 @ 9:00 am Wed, Jan 29 @ 9:00 am Thu, Jan 30 @ 9:00 am Fri, Jan 31 @ 9:00 am Sat, Feb 01 @ 10:00 am Sun, Feb 02 @ 1:00 pm Mon, Feb 03 @ 9:00 am Tue, Feb 04 @ 9:00 am Wed, Feb 05 @ 9:00 am Thu, Feb 06 @ 9:00 am Fri, Feb 07 @ 9:00 am Sat, Feb 08 @ 10:00 am Sun, Feb 09 @ 1:00 pm Mon, Feb 10 @ 9:00 am Tue, Feb 11 @ 9:00 am Wed, Feb 12 @ 9:00 am Thu, Feb 13 @ 9:00 am Fri, Feb 14 @ 9:00 am Sat, Feb 15 @ 10:00 am Sun, Feb 16 @ 1:00 pm Mon, Feb 17 @ 9:00 am Tue, Feb 18 @ 9:00 am Wed, Feb 19 @ 9:00 am Thu, Feb 20 @ 9:00 am Fri, Feb 21 @ 9:00 am Sat, Feb 22 @ 10:00 am Sun, Feb 23 @ 1:00 pm Mon, Feb 24 @ 9:00 am Tue, Feb 25 @ 9:00 am Wed, Feb 26 @ 9:00 am Thu, Feb 27 @ 9:00 am Fri, Feb 28 @ 9:00 am - Less dates

Admission

9-9 Mon-Thu 9-6 Fri 10-6 Sat 1-6 Sun

205-444-7800

Location

Hoover Public Library Arrow icon

200 Municipal Drive, Hoover, AL 35216

Full map and directions Arrow icon