So many festivals. So little time.

It seems like there’s always something happening here. More big events. More new festivals. More of everything. To the point where you’ll wish you had more time.


Festivals and Events in Birmingham

Birmingham is quickly becoming the go-to festival destination in the Southeast. It’s about music. It’s about art. It’s about film. It’s about food. The festival scene around here is about a lot things, and it’s about time you experienced it for yourself.

Featured Festivals and Events In Birmingham
Experience Top Events #INNovember

Previous Set Next Set

Current & Upcoming Events


Unfolding UAB: 50 Years of Photography from the UAB Archives

Presented by Abroms-Engel Institute for the Visual Arts (AEIVA)... at UAB Abroms-Engel Institute for the Visual Arts (AE..., Birmingham

October 21 - December 14

On June 16, 1969, Governor Albert Brewer and members of the Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama held a press conference in Montgomery to announce the creation of a new three-campus University of Alabama System. That September saw the start of the first academic year for the newly autonomous University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB).

Originating as an extension program for the University of Alabama during the Great Depression and adding the medical campus in 1945, the history of...

[more+]

On June 16, 1969, Governor Albert Brewer and members of the Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama held a press conference in Montgomery to announce the creation of a new three-campus University of Alabama System. That September saw the start of the first academic year for the newly autonomous University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB).

Originating as an extension program for the University of Alabama during the Great Depression and adding the medical campus in 1945, the history of UAB is multi-layered and complicated, by firmly grounded in the landscape of 20th century Birmingham.

Exhibiting over 80 photographs from the UAB Archives, Unfolding UAB pictographically traces not just the history of UAB as an institution but as a community that unfolded within the fabric of Birmingham, forging and building its own unique identity.

//

Co-curated by AEIVA Collections, Exhibitions and Programs Coordinator Christina McClellan and UAB Assistant Director of Historical Collections and Archivist Tim Pennycuff.

[less-]

Dates & times

Sat, Nov 16 @ 12:00 pm Mon, Nov 18 @ 10:00 am Tue, Nov 19 @ 10:00 am + 22 more dates and times

Wed, Nov 20 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 21 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 22 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 23 @ 12:00 pm Mon, Nov 25 @ 10:00 am Tue, Nov 26 @ 10:00 am Wed, Nov 27 @ 10:00 am Thu, Nov 28 @ 10:00 am Fri, Nov 29 @ 10:00 am Sat, Nov 30 @ 12:00 pm Mon, Dec 02 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 03 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 04 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 05 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 06 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 07 @ 12:00 pm Mon, Dec 09 @ 10:00 am Tue, Dec 10 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 11 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 12 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 13 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 14 @ 12:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

205-975-6436

aeiva@uab.edu