So many festivals. So little time.

It seems like there’s always something happening here. More big events. More new festivals. More of everything. To the point where you’ll wish you had more time.


Festivals and Events in Birmingham

Birmingham is quickly becoming the go-to festival destination in the Southeast. It’s about music. It’s about art. It’s about film. It’s about food. The festival scene around here is about a lot things, and it’s about time you experienced it for yourself.

Featured Festivals and Events In Birmingham
Experience Top Events #INSeptember

Previous Set Next Set

Current & Upcoming Events


Quentin Morris

Presented by Abroms-Engel Institute for the Visual Arts (AEIVA)... at UAB Abroms-Engel Institute for the Visual Arts (AE..., Birmingham

August 26 - October 12

Philadelphia-based artist Quentin Morris uses a variety of materials to explore issues surrounding identity, race, spirituality, and cultural mythologies. The integration of schools in Philadelphia impacted Morris as an adolescent and still influences his work today. Morris has focused his studio practice on monochromatic black paintings in the shapes of circles and squares since the early 1960s. Morris’ AEIVA exhibition features a selection of paintings that span five decades of the...

[more+]

Philadelphia-based artist Quentin Morris uses a variety of materials to explore issues surrounding identity, race, spirituality, and cultural mythologies. The integration of schools in Philadelphia impacted Morris as an adolescent and still influences his work today. Morris has focused his studio practice on monochromatic black paintings in the shapes of circles and squares since the early 1960s. Morris’ AEIVA exhibition features a selection of paintings that span five decades of the artist’s career.

Through his paintings, Morris is able to process his ideas on race, ethnicity, and culture, while at the same time constructing a social commentary on the Civil Rights Movement. Morris wants the viewer to take an intense look into his deceptively simple paintings - understanding that the color black is both beautiful and complex. This will be Quentin Morris’ first major exhibition in the South.

[less-]

Dates & times

Mon, Sep 23 @ 10:00 am Tue, Sep 24 @ 10:00 am Wed, Sep 25 @ 10:00 am + 15 more dates and times

Thu, Sep 26 @ 10:00 am Fri, Sep 27 @ 10:00 am Sat, Sep 28 @ 12:00 pm Mon, Sep 30 @ 10:00 am Tue, Oct 01 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 02 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 03 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 04 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 05 @ 12:00 pm Mon, Oct 07 @ 10:00 am Tue, Oct 08 @ 10:00 am Wed, Oct 09 @ 10:00 am Thu, Oct 10 @ 10:00 am Fri, Oct 11 @ 10:00 am Sat, Oct 12 @ 12:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

Free and open to the public

205-975-6436

aeiva@uab.edu