So many festivals. So little time.

It seems like there’s always something happening here. More big events. More new festivals. More of everything. To the point where you’ll wish you had more time.


Festivals and Events in Birmingham

Birmingham is quickly becoming the go-to festival destination in the Southeast. It’s about music. It’s about art. It’s about film. It’s about food. The festival scene around here is about a lot things, and it’s about time you experienced it for yourself.

Featured Festivals and Events In Birmingham
Experience Top Events #INDecember

Previous Set Next Set

Current & Upcoming Events


Black Out: Silhouettes Then and Now

Presented by Birmingham Museum of Art at Birmingham Museum of Art, Birmingham

September 28 - January 12

Before the selfie, before the Polaroid, and even before the photograph, there was the silhouette, a profile portrait made from cut paper. Silhouettes were a hugely popular and accessible form of portraiture in the nineteenth century, offering almost instant images of everyday Americans—women, men, black, white, presidents, and laborers. Black Out: Silhouettes Then and Now explores this previously unstudied art form by investigating its deep historical roots and considering its forceful...

[more+]

Before the selfie, before the Polaroid, and even before the photograph, there was the silhouette, a profile portrait made from cut paper. Silhouettes were a hugely popular and accessible form of portraiture in the nineteenth century, offering almost instant images of everyday Americans—women, men, black, white, presidents, and laborers. Black Out: Silhouettes Then and Now explores this previously unstudied art form by investigating its deep historical roots and considering its forceful presence today.

[less-]

Dates & times

Fri, Dec 13 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 14 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 15 @ 12:00 pm + 23 more dates and times

Tue, Dec 17 @ 10:00 am Wed, Dec 18 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 19 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 20 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 21 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 22 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Dec 24 @ 10:00 am Thu, Dec 26 @ 10:00 am Fri, Dec 27 @ 10:00 am Sat, Dec 28 @ 10:00 am Sun, Dec 29 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Dec 31 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 01 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 02 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 03 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 04 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 05 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Jan 07 @ 10:00 am Wed, Jan 08 @ 10:00 am Thu, Jan 09 @ 10:00 am Fri, Jan 10 @ 10:00 am Sat, Jan 11 @ 10:00 am Sun, Jan 12 @ 12:00 pm - Less dates

Admission

Sept 28, 2019-Jan 12, 2020 / Jemison Galleries Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-5pm Sunday: Noon-5pm First Fridays: open until 9pm Closed Mondays and Major Holidays General Admission is FREE

205.254.2565

Location

Birmingham Museum of Art Arrow icon

2000 Rev. Abraham Woods, Jr. Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35203

Full map and directions Arrow icon