So many festivals. So little time.

It seems like there’s always something happening here. More big events. More new festivals. More of everything. To the point where you’ll wish you had more time.


Festivals and Events in Birmingham

Birmingham is quickly becoming the go-to festival destination in the Southeast. It’s about music. It’s about art. It’s about film. It’s about food. The festival scene around here is about a lot things, and it’s about time you experienced it for yourself.

Featured Festivals and Events In Birmingham
Experience 2019 SEC Baseball Tournament
May 21-26, 2019

Previous Set Next Set

Current & Upcoming Events


Exhibit – Keep Looking Beautiful

Presented by Birmingham Public Library at Birmingham Public Library - Central Branch, Birmingham

April 16 - June 07

Keep Looking Beautiful will showcase paintings by Erin LeAnn Mitchell. A self-described interdisciplinary artist, Mitchell's work draws from Western art history, pop art, and visual culture to examine ideas around femininity, beauty, and race.

Mitchell received a bachelor's in fine art from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in 2011 and a master's in art from Columbia College in Chicago in 2016.

Mitchell has had her work featured on the television series Empire and was selected...

[more+]

Keep Looking Beautiful will showcase paintings by Erin LeAnn Mitchell. A self-described interdisciplinary artist, Mitchell's work draws from Western art history, pop art, and visual culture to examine ideas around femininity, beauty, and race.

Mitchell received a bachelor's in fine art from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago in 2011 and a master's in art from Columbia College in Chicago in 2016.

Mitchell has had her work featured on the television series Empire and was selected to do a commissioned portrait of Dr. Angela Davis highlighting her humanitarian achievements. Mitchell presented the portrait to Dr. Davis during an event held in her honor at the Boutwell Auditorium on February 16, 2019.

Mitchell is currently preparing for her solo show in New York at Kravets & Wehby gallery this fall.

[less-]

Dates & times

Mon, May 20 @ 9:00 am Tue, May 21 @ 9:00 am Wed, May 22 @ 9:00 am + 16 more dates and times

Thu, May 23 @ 9:00 am Fri, May 24 @ 9:00 am Sat, May 25 @ 9:00 am Sun, May 26 @ 2:00 pm Mon, May 27 @ 9:00 am Tue, May 28 @ 9:00 am Wed, May 29 @ 9:00 am Thu, May 30 @ 9:00 am Fri, May 31 @ 9:00 am Sat, Jun 01 @ 9:00 am Sun, Jun 02 @ 2:00 pm Mon, Jun 03 @ 9:00 am Tue, Jun 04 @ 9:00 am Wed, Jun 05 @ 9:00 am Thu, Jun 06 @ 9:00 am Fri, Jun 07 @ 9:00 am - Less dates

Admission

This exhibit is free and open to the public during library hours in the Central Library Fourth Floor Gallery. Monday & Tuesday 9:00 a.m.–8:00 p.m. Wednesday through Saturday 9:00 a.m.– 6:00 p.m. Sundays 2:00–6:00 p.m.

205-226-3600

Location