So many festivals. So little time.

It seems like there’s always something happening here. More big events. More new festivals. More of everything. To the point where you’ll wish you had more time.


Festivals and Events in Birmingham

Birmingham is quickly becoming the go-to festival destination in the Southeast. It’s about music. It’s about art. It’s about film. It’s about food. The festival scene around here is about a lot things, and it’s about time you experienced it for yourself.

Featured Festivals and Events In Birmingham
Experience Experience these awesome events INMarch!

Events in Birmingham INMarch

Previous Set Next Set

Current & Upcoming Events


Stargazing: Portraits of American Musical Legends

Presented by Birmingham Museum of Art at Birmingham Museum of Art, Birmingham

February 14 - April 26

Ethel Waters was at the peak of her singing career when artist Luigi Lucioni painted her portrait in 1939. His striking portrait of the star was met with critical acclaim, winning first prize at the 1939 Carnegie International Exposition. Waters also appreciated the portrait on a personal level and purchased it from the artist. In this small exhibition, Waters’ portrait is presented with five photographs from the permanent collection of the Birmingham Museum of Art. Together these works...

[more+]

Ethel Waters was at the peak of her singing career when artist Luigi Lucioni painted her portrait in 1939. His striking portrait of the star was met with critical acclaim, winning first prize at the 1939 Carnegie International Exposition. Waters also appreciated the portrait on a personal level and purchased it from the artist. In this small exhibition, Waters’ portrait is presented with five photographs from the permanent collection of the Birmingham Museum of Art. Together these works offer a glimpse of the range of representations of African American musicians and performance spaces created from the 1930s to the 1950s.

The Birmingham Museum of Art is grateful to the Huntsville Museum of Art and its executive director Christopher J. Madkour for making this important loan possible.

[less-]

Dates & times

Tue, Mar 26 @ 10:00 am Wed, Mar 27 @ 10:00 am Thu, Mar 28 @ 10:00 am + 25 more dates and times

Fri, Mar 29 @ 10:00 am Sat, Mar 30 @ 10:00 am Sun, Mar 31 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Apr 02 @ 10:00 am Wed, Apr 03 @ 10:00 am Thu, Apr 04 @ 10:00 am Fri, Apr 05 @ 10:00 am Sat, Apr 06 @ 10:00 am Sun, Apr 07 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Apr 09 @ 10:00 am Wed, Apr 10 @ 10:00 am Thu, Apr 11 @ 10:00 am Fri, Apr 12 @ 10:00 am Sat, Apr 13 @ 10:00 am Sun, Apr 14 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Apr 16 @ 10:00 am Wed, Apr 17 @ 10:00 am Thu, Apr 18 @ 10:00 am Fri, Apr 19 @ 10:00 am Sat, Apr 20 @ 10:00 am Sun, Apr 21 @ 12:00 pm Tue, Apr 23 @ 10:00 am Wed, Apr 24 @ 10:00 am Thu, Apr 25 @ 10:00 am Fri, Apr 26 @ 10:00 am - Less dates

Admission

Tuesday-Saturday: 10am-5pm Sunday: Noon-5pm First Fridays: open until 9pm Closed Mondays and Major Holidays General Admission is FREE

205.254.2565

Location

Birmingham Museum of Art Arrow icon

2000 Rev. Abraham Woods, Jr. Blvd, Birmingham, AL 35203

Full map and directions Arrow icon